ECI 831: A Brave New Journey into Open Education!

Hello, ECI 831! This is the third class I’ve taken specifically targeting the use of Web 2.0 as an educational tool, leading me, I hope (not kicking and screaming too ferociously) to a deeper understanding of how to use social media not only to engage students in their own inquiry and learning process, but to guide my personal professional development,  and hopefully inspire the teachers I serve! Wow that smacks of lofty (and possibly arrogant) ambition, but hey, I might as well aim high! If you want to know more about who I am and where I’ve been ( it should shed light on my penchant for literary allusion) please check out my About Me page!

As prologue, I’ll share that I began this Blog last spring as part of EC&I 834. This was my first experience with a Blog and since then I have left my comfortable but limiting Wikispace world far behind.  My  journey through that course is chronicled in my previous posts and the specific pages I created outlining various 2.0 tools, many of which were new to me at the time, but which I have since been able to incorporate in my professional practice. If you are interested in these tools, feel free to peruse these pages and offer your comments or reviews!

However, this post marks a change in the direction and purpose of this Blog (insert drum roll and inspirational score here…) – Beginning today, this blog will serve less as a summary of my learnings but more of living, active archive of my own inquiry based learning. I encourage you to respond honestly to my Mutterings and Musings as I struggle to understand the concepts and pedagogy of open education and how social media  can enhance the educational experience of high school students, not just give them a cool place to hang out and call  homework!

In my role as a Vice-Principal, I deal weekly with the byproducts my students’ use of Facebook and mobile microblogging – harrassment, bullying, misinterpretation, dehumanization, humiliation, alienation –  a result of their inability to recognize or exercise social protocols, identify audience, establish context, distinguish between private and public, or appreciate the permanance of print and its mass exposure . Last year I stumbled upon a lecture delivered by Danah Boyd at the Penn State Symposium for Teaching and Learning with Technology (2009). It echoed what I believed to be true from my own experiences and provided me with some startling insights – how college students and adults use social networking sites is quite different than how teens use it. Adults “network” , teens “socialize” – How do we close the gap so it can be a truly effective educational tool?

Check out the Youtube Prezi presentation which serves as a shortened summary of Danah Boyd’s key points, or if you have 40 minutes on your hands – view the original. I would love to hear your thoughts! Do you agree or disagree?

4 thoughts on “ECI 831: A Brave New Journey into Open Education!

  1. Welcome – it’s exciting to have you in the class, and it’s great to see that you’ve done some research in the area, and have become with boyd’s work.

    I’m looking forward to your mutterings, and will definitely backtrack and see what you’ve written so far.

    Connect with you soon …

  2. onepercentyellow says:

    Just watched the 7 minute video and what a great summary of the challenges and the opportunities of engaging in the online world. Allan’s blog earlier this week (http://allandlowrie.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/twitter-de-diddly-dee/) rolled around in my head for a while, and I came to the conclusion that these tools or places (however you would like to see them) are only as useful as physical spaces we choose to hang out in. Just as my mother didn’t see the point in me hanging out in the dirty, smelly pool hall as a teenager, folks have a hard time seeing the importance of these online places. That’s where my friends are! If you don’t understand a space, it’s likely because you don’t have friends there.

  3. Sarah says:

    Love the comment about the pool hall. It’s so true. I am presently watching Boyd’s presentation in full and plan to blog about it in the future. Thanks for posting the video.

    On a different note, I am assuming by your title you are a fan of Potter. Saw this clip on youtube and thought I would add it for your viewing. Have only seen part one, but it brought a smile to my face.

Leave a Reply

