Tell Me A Story…

Tell me a story… I used to beg my older sister  to tell me one more story before lights out. Maybe it was this insatiable thirst for narrative that prompted me to go into education and become an English teacher. Every day my classroom was a new page in a story – sometimes the story was of struggle, sometimes of triumph, and most times with undisclosed endings. You see, that is the thing about teaching, we never really see the conclusions to the threads of narrative we establish in class, those story stems that continue to grow and be shaped by our students on their knowledge journey and by us on ours.

This weeks presentation by Alan Levine got me thinking about story telling. In particular, how we encourage students to make sense of their learnings through creating and producing stories.  Often, it is in the process of trying to articulate the story when the most learning occurs. Sometimes it is the messiness of this scribblings and scrawlings that establish the necessary conflict before learning reaches some sort of resolution.

Alan Levine’s 50 Ways To Tell a Story  resource provides teachers and students with the opportunities to capture the essence of the story – the struggle and the plot twists as they grapple with their learning. I thought I would experiment a bit with my own story about how I now try to way find and make sense of how I teach and why I teach. This course has helped open a new world of Web 2.0 tools and extended my personal learning network. The addition of such antagonists has taken by educational story to a new plot and series of conflicts – I can’t wait to see where it leads me! See how I depicted my story through the use of ToonDoo .

2 thoughts on “Tell Me A Story…

  1. Nice – only two frames to tell an important story!

    My undergrads really like ToonDoo and have done some great things with students using it. Thanks for giving it a try.

  2. mickpanko says:

    I love your focus on the process – messy is uncomfortable for so many of us to get to a point of learning…but necessary!

Leave a Reply

